Julia Bailey – Research etc

thinking…making…videos…what?

Super 8 – slight obsession

leave a comment »

Right, so why am I so fixated on this?

In 2007 when I was working at Modern Art Oxford, I saw this exhibition.

Just this one piece by Seth Price / Kelley Walker sticks in my head. The darkened gallery space, the clickty click of the 16mm projector – I’d never seen one before and the amazing digital waves film:

For Köln Waves/Blues, Price purchased a 6-second video loop from a company that makes “empty” background images for corporate use, then added color effects and looped it, yielding a hypnotic, emptied-out work that looks back to structuralist and early film experiments even as it presents an image of degraded and détourned digital junk, threatening at each instant to collapse.

Maybe I should buy the book? This is where its coming from….

and also this exhibition I saw at Danielle Arnaud, but that was multiple slide projectors (and 16mm).

Written by juliarbailey

21/02/2011 at 7:37 pm

Posted in Ideas, Illusion, Super 8

Leave a comment